Busy reading The God Delusion

I love this book; Richard Dawkins is an amazing writer, but his videos are even better!  Hard to believe that 3 months ago I didn’t even know he existed………..  Ah well, live and learn something new and interesting every day.

On page 50-51 of The God Delusion, I found his ‘seven milestones’.  Found them interesting, and decided to comment on them.

  1. Strong theist.  100% probabilty of God.    Not sure how anyone could be THAT sure of an unseen beings existance.  I know that I never have been, even in my most ‘Christian’ phase of life!
  2. Very high probability but short of 100%.   I don’t think I ever made it this high on the belief meter either……LOL
  3. Higher than 50% but not very high.  I did get this high on the belief meter during my most ‘Christian’ phase.  As a matter of fact, I even entered (for 2 years) a cloistered Carmolite Monastery to train as a Carmolite nun.  It was so anti-intelectual there though that I left before taking any Vows.  It kept occuring to me that I could be ‘marrying’ nothing! Guess I could get points for really, really trying?!
  4. Lower than 50% but not very low.  Guess I have been in this area for the last 15 years or so.  The per centage rate has been going down slowly for all of those years………
  5. Very low probability, but short of zero.  Although I hadn’t realized it completely, this has been how I have been living for the last 10 years or so.  I still thought that there may be a god, but definately living as though there isn’t one.
  6. Strong atheist.  I suppose if someone could manage to come up with some reliable proof that a deity of some kind exists…….
About Shadow Star

I am a perpetual student of life in general and of many and varied topics. Be warned, I skip about a bit and tend to be interested in many different types of studies and topics!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

